And then I ate….

Mid-Autumn Moon

 

Mid-Autumn Festival came and went, with the obligatory moon cakes and some serious eating. Then there was that full, full moon, apparently making its first appearance in about 10 years through the cloudy Chengdu skies.

I love food. Really I do. Just look at my waistline. My family used to have a running joke that wherever we went, we traveled on our stomachs. Nothing much has changed.

As usual, these are my friend’s photos.

Preparing to eat a Mid-Autumn feast at a local restaurant

 Spicy cucumber

  

Grated potato dish

 

Stir-fried pork with peppers

 

 Tofu with ground pork, green onions, and peanuts. Delish.
 

I made a startling discovery – Xiao Gou Gou has a severe vitamin deficiency. An emergency trip to the vet resulted in 3 vitamin injections, some prescription medicine, and a scolding for being a bad parent and not feeding him vegetables. How was I, an innocent foreigner, to know that commercial pet food, served in a combination of dry and packaged, did not provide a balanced diet? I’ve fed him the way that my family has always fed pets, without putting much thought into it, with seemingly disastrous results. Horrible skin sores, hair loss, and lack of energy are the results. Dogs are not cats; they’re not self-sufficient and need much more attention, exercise, and, apparently, vegetables. Who’d’a thunk?

My solution? To abandon oily, salty, meaty foods and start cooking at home again. So I made:

 

 In which we turn vegetarian: pickled cucumbers

 

 Egg and tomato soup with lettuce

Rice/grain (not sure of the translated name) with steamed carrots

Giant ATX 680

My new bike was a gift from myself in honor of Mid-Autumn Festival, and for working straight through the summer and earning more money.

I’m not sure how this relates to food, except that now it might be easier to get to those out-of-the-way restaurants.

ADDENDUM: Since we’re on the subject of food, I’ve gotta tell you about SALUT Spanish restaurant (actually, Catalan cuisine), which opened in Chengdu 2 days after the May earthquake. My gawd, is the food delicious. I joined some of the other foreign teachers last night for the best foreign cuisine I’ve eaten since coming to China. Among the delights: garlicky sauteed squid, tortilla – a baked omelet with potatoes, not the Mexican tortilla, black rice made with squid ink, strong-flavored Spanish cheese and sliced cold cuts, salads with olives, artichokes, tuna, anchovies, boiled eggs, eggplant, and a spicy red salsa brava.

Did I say diet? I lied.

Leave a Reply

