A sunny Wednesday

A rare sight in Chengdu: a blue sky

Taking advantage of the sun

I went for a sunny walk down mysterious lanes…

…and took pictures of walls…

and buildings.
My classes this week: Just so you don’t think I’m doing frivolous things in my classroom, here are some fascinating examples I used to teach about pronunciation, diction, rhythm, and stress in English:

Betty Botter had some butter,
“But,” she said, “this butter’s bitter.
If I bake this bitter butter,
it would make my batter bitter.
But a bit of better butter–
that would make my batter better.

and…

There once was an old man from Esser,
Whose knowledge grew lesser and lesser;
It at last grew so small,
He knew nothing at all,
And now he’s a college professor.

Leave a Reply

