Saturday Photos

These are some shots from my walk last Saturday, the final “offical” day of the Golden Week holiday. I explored the southern part of Chengdu, walked along the Jinjiang River, and visited the River Viewing Park. Later that day I came down with a bad allergy attack or cold, and spent most of the next 2 days in bed. Ho-hum.

Street corner in my neighborhood
Self-portrait in shadow
Spiral steps by the river
Splashing fountain
Wallscape
2 responses to “Saturday Photos

  1. Dear Roger,”What have I got myself into” was a constant though roaming my head even after a year from moving to the U.S. I had such a longing for “my stuff” my friends and family. I realized that “I had to stick with it, through thick and thin” and take it a day, a week, a month at a time. I realized that I worked very hard to make such a move, and that my feelings (then) were that part of me who didn’t agree with the (then) present.I read your posting and don’t seem to find the reason why you feel you have failed. I know you must have been going through a cultural shock “moment”, and having allergies just make things worse. I have to ask. Why do you feel you have failed?The American media feeds so much stuff to its citizens that many can’t tolerate boredom. Most people expect novelty, scandals, drama, competition, and recently gore, blood, sweat and tears is what seems normal to many in Los Angeles.I think of you, I support you, I hear you, and I have to say, such a big burly man, has big, hairy balls “hang in there my friend”Maybe we could give it a try to web-cam,(and no I don’t want to see your big hairy balls on cam, unless I must) We could also try actual written correspondence, the new-dying art. Let me know.I dealt with feelings of failure the natural way, denyal, contemplation, acceptance etc. I later found something to do to “silence” those feelings, something that could give me a sense of success (doing laundry doesn’t count) I said to myself, “keep your eyes on the prise” I came to the U.S., to learn the language, well I focused on it. Chinesse is such a challenge, but you are such a man. (wasn’t the comment on your balls, sorta weird?)hang in there…loves youArturo

  2. Dear Roger,”What have I got myself into” was a constant though roaming my head even after a year from moving to the U.S. I had such a longing for “my stuff” my friends and family. I realized that “I had to stick with it, through thick and thin” and take it a day, a week, a month at a time. I realized that I worked very hard to make such a move, and that my feelings (then) were that part of me who didn’t agree with the (then) present.I read your posting and don’t seem to find the reason why you feel you have failed. I know you must have been going through a cultural shock “moment”, and having allergies just make things worse. I have to ask. Why do you feel you have failed?The American media feeds so much stuff to its citizens that many can’t tolerate boredom. Most people expect novelty, scandals, drama, competition, and recently gore, blood, sweat and tears is what seems normal to many in Los Angeles.I think of you, I support you, I hear you, and I have to say, such a big burly man, has big, hairy balls “hang in there my friend”Maybe we could give it a try to web-cam,(and no I don’t want to see your big hairy balls on cam, unless I must) We could also try actual written correspondence, the new-dying art. Let me know.I dealt with feelings of failure the natural way, denyal, contemplation, acceptance etc. I later found something to do to “silence” those feelings, something that could give me a sense of success (doing laundry doesn’t count) I said to myself, “keep your eyes on the prise” I came to the U.S., to learn the language, well I focused on it. Chinesse is such a challenge, but you are such a man. (wasn’t the comment on your balls, sorta weird?)hang in there…loves youArturo

Leave a Reply

