Rainy Sunday

Chengdu Noir

Sunday – I’ve had a lot of time this weekend to think. Yesterday I didn’t feel well, so I spent most of the day in bed reading, sleeping when I could. I finished reading Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 in two days. Last night I watched Jules Dassin’s Night and the City on DVD on my computer – what a wonderful, atmospheric movie.

Today it rained – all day. I’m listening to it now through the partly-opened window. The only times I ventured outside were to go to the dining hall for breakfast and dinner. I meditated, read another chapter of Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind, and then picked up my copy of the Norton Anthology of Literature ($1 at a library sale in L.A.) and read A Streetcar named Desire in its entirety. Then I was depressed and took a nap.

I did some lesson planning this afternoon and this evening, responded to a couple of emails, and now I think I’ll watch the DVD of Alfred Hitchcock’s Secret Agent. All in all it’s been a noir-ish weekend. Drip, drip, drip.

Leave a Reply

