Monday

Just realized how long it’s been since I posted to this blog. No teaching jobs to report, but a hell of a lot of resumes and emails sent out. Oh yes, and I renewed my passport last Thursday. that’s one small step toward going abroad. I should start sending out applications in January.

I began reading Mark Salzman’s “Iron and Silk,” about his adventures as an English teacher and martial arts student in China in the early 80s. Yikes. It will be interesting to see how things have changed/not changed since then. In the 80s the country was coming out of the Cultural Revolution and had not yet headed in the direction of consumerism. I hope to be as open to new experiences as he was.

Tomorrow is my first presentation for GLIDE – that’s Gays and Lesbians Initiating Dialogue for Equality – a the Museum of Tolerance for a group of junior high students. In a way it’s a teaching activity; we teach about homophobia and work to eliminate it. Might as well go back to the root of my own homophobic suffering, and relive my own junior high experience. The way out is THROUGH the pain, not around it. This way, folks.
On a more personal note, I am grappling with work issues. I hate my job. There, I’ve said it. I know, though, that I have a goal – several, in fact – toward which I am working, and that when I do leave this job in 7 or 8 months, it will not be to run away, but to run toward. I am also meditating every morning, and I am noticing small changes in my life, like more happiness, a sense of calm, and less animosity toward others. My reading continues – books about travel in Tibet, China, Mongolia, and Ladakh. Do I sense a theme here?
Leave a Reply

